Adventure

 READING FOR ADVENTURE

JourneyFamily and Friend Adventures
Byars, Betsy. A Blossom Promise.
Creech, Sharon. Ruby Holler.
Dahl, Roald. Danny, the Champion of the World.
Estes, Eleanor. Ginger Pye, Rufus M. and The Moffats.
Grahame, Kenneth. The Wind in the Willows.
Horvath, Polly. The Trolls, My One Hundred Adventures and more.
Lindgren, Astrid. Pippi Longstocking.
McCloskey. Robert. Homer Price and Centerburg Tales.
Montgomery, L.M. Anne of Green Gables.
Nesbit. E. Five Children and It and The Railway Chlidren.
Peck, Robert Newton. Soup and Soup and Me.
Robertson, Keith. Henry Reed, Inc.
Rockwell, Thomas. How to Eat Fried Worms.
Scrimger, Richard. Into the Ravine.
Spyri, Johanna. Heidi.
Twain, Mark. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.
Wyss, Johann. The Swiss Family Robinson.

Grk SmellsHoliday adventures
Birdsall, Jeanne. The Penderwicks.
Dahl, Roald. James and the Giant Peach.
Ellis, Sarah. The Several Lives of Orphan Jack.
Enright, Elizabeth. Gone-Away Lake and Return to Gone-Away Lake.
Horvath, Polly. The Vacation.
Montero, Gloria. The Summer the Whales Sang.
Staples, Suzanne Fisher. The Green Dog.
Tullson, Diane. Red Sea.
Verne, Jules. Around the World in Eighty Days.
Whelan, Gloria. That Wild Berries Should Grow.

Outlaw in India

Mysterious adventures
Avi. Crispin: the Cross of Lead and Crispin: At the Edge of the World.
Corder, Zizou. the Lionboy series
Hahn, Mary Downing. Stepping on the Cracks.
Mah, Adeline Yen. Chinese Cinderella and the Secret Dragon Society.
Garfield, Leon. Smith.
Horowitz, Anthony. Ark Angel, Eagle Strike, Point Blanc, Scorpia, Snakehead and more.
Morpurgo, Michael. The Butterfly Lion.
Napoli, Jo. North.
Snicket, Lemony. The Bad Beginning and many more.
Trease, Geoffrey. Word to Caesar.
Wilson, Eric. Disneyland Hostage and Summer of Discovery and many more.

Navigating EarlyOutdoor adventures
Defoe, Daniel. Robinson Crusoe.
George, Jean Craighead. My Side of the Mountain.
Hill, Kirkpatrick. Winter Camp.
Hobbs, Will. Ghost Canoe.Houston, James. Frozen Fire.
Jones, David. Baboon.
Kehret, Peg. Escaping the Giant Wave.
Korman, Gordon. Survival.
London, Jack. The Call of the Wild.
Mowat, Farley. Lost in the Barrens.
North, Sterling. Rascal.
O’Dell, Scott. Island of the Blue Dolphins.
Paulson, Gary. Hatchet.
Smith, Roland. Peak.
Stevenson, Robert Louis. Treasure Island.
Ullman, James R. Banner in the Sky.

Island of ThievesFantasy and Science Fiction Adventure
DiTerlizzi, Tony. The Spiderwick Chronicles starting with The Field Guide.
McCaffrey, Anne. Dragonsong, Dragonquest and many others.
MacHale, D.J. Black Water, The Pilgrims of Rayne, The Quillan Games, The Reality Bug and more.
Nesbit, E. The Phoenix and the Carpet.
Oppel, Kenneth. Airborn, Skybreaker, Starclimber and the Silverwing Saga.
Patterson, James. The Maximum Ride series starting with The Angel Experiment.
Riordan, Rick. The Percy Jackson series starting with The Lightning Thief.
Rodda, Emily. The Deltora Quest series starting with The Forests of Silence.
Sage, Angie. The Septimus Heap series starting with Magyk.
Stilton, Geronimo. The Geronimo Stilton series with over 30 titles.
Yancy, Rick. Alfred Kropp: the Seal of Solomon and others.

 

Click HERE for novels of survival!

Gidwitz, Adam. The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog. New York: Dutton Children’s Books, 2016.

Do miracles happen?  Can hearts change? Will goodness prevail? Three travellers – a peasant girl with a mysterious greyhound, a Jewish refugee, and a boy raised in a monastery – flee persecution in 13th century France.  Illustrated in medieval style by Hatem Aly and followed by a long author’s note and an annotated bibliography, this 337-page Newbery Medal winning novel will be avidly devoured by competent readers 11 years old and up. [Adventure stories, Faith; France; Medieval life; Quests; Persecution] 

Reviews!

Tintin and the Picaros is a suspenseful story about a boy, Tintin, and his two friends, Captain Haddock and Professor Cuthbert Calculus. The story takes place in a fictional country called Tapiocapolis. These three gentlemen go on a riveting adventure to rescue their acquaintance, Bianca Castafiore, from jail. Bianca was falsely accused of plotting to overthrow the government of Tapiocapolis so she was sentenced to a lifetime in prison. Tintin, Captain Haddock, and the Professor were also accused of assisting Bianca in her plot, but strangely enough, the leader of Tapiocapolis, General Tapioca, invited them to stay in Tapiocapolis, all expenses paid, to exchange views on the conspiracy. Tintin, being a clever young boy, predicted that accepting the invitation would result in a dangerous outcome. Much to Tintin’s dismay, Captain Haddock accepted the invitation, thus accepting the consequences that would follow. It turns out that Colonel Sponsz, General Tapioca’s technical advisor, had planned to kill the three gentlemen because of a mishap, which caused Sponsz to be subjected to humiliation. After many attempts to escape the scandalous scheme of Sponsz, Tintin, Captain Haddock, and Professor Cuthbert, finally rescued the beautiful Bianca, while barely escaping with their lives. All in all, this story grasped me with its powerful vocabulary, and the storyline always kept me on the edge of my seat. – Sarah in grade eight

Philbrick, Rodman. The Last Book in the Universe. New York: Blue Sky Press, 2000.

Spaz has heard about a world with books, but he has never seen one.  In his world, people use mindprobes, needles which shoot pictures straight into your mind and let you escape the grey misery of life. But then he meets an old man, Ryter, and learns the power of stories.  For readers who liked The Hunger Games or Fahrenheit 451, this thoughtful but easy-to-read novel. [Science fiction; Fathers and sons; Adventure and adventurers; Epilepsy; Books and reading]

Chelsea, in grade six, read Cryptid Hunters by Roland Smith. The story takes place in a boarding school in Switzerland and could have happened even this year. In other words, it’s not set in the past or in an imaginary future.  The main characters, Marty and Grace, are siblings; Grace was adopted but neither of them know that until later in the story when they go to live with a person they think is their uncle but is actually Grace’s birth father. In the story, cryptids are creatures for whom there is no scientific evidence of their existence. But cryptid hunters go searching for them, anyway, sort of the way people sometimes search for Sasquatches. The central conflict in the story arises because Marty’s and Grace’s uncle is a cryptid hunter who goes to the Congo, in Africa, to search for these mysterious creatures. When he leaves, the two go with him but then something happens. Read this story to find out!

The Thief Lord, by Cornelia Funke, is the best book I have ever read! This novel is set in Venice, Italy, and the way the author describes it is beautiful: stone statutes of winged lions and sparkling streets of water! The main characters, Prosper and Boniface (Bo), are runaway orphaned brothers who end up in Venice where they join a band of pick-pocketing street children who find shelter in an abandoned movie theatre. Their leader is Scipio, who calls himself the Thief Lord. The two brothers make new friends on their adventure, uncover a shocking secret about their leader, and discover a magical merry-go-round in an extraordinary novel about friendship, magic, and the value of working together. (Darien in gr. eight)

Escape the Mask by Ward keeps a reader wanting more. There are two orphans in a place called Grassland and they’re captured by these people called Spears. They meet two more orphans who join them on their adventure to escape Grassland and reach Outside. This novel reminds me of other novels about future worlds. I liked it. You might, too! (Jordan)

Zach's Lie

I read Zach’s Lie by Roland Smith to my class. It was great. The main character, a boy, gets put into the witness protection once his father gets put into jail because he was transporting drugs for a cartel. The boy must keep his old life a secret from anyone he meets and his family can’t be found by the cartel. So he has to lie about everything and his name is changed from ‘Jack’ to ‘Zach’. This book kept kids interested and guessing. (Mr. Blades)

My favourite book so far this year is a book named Choose Your Own Adventures. It’s a really cool book that gives you choices. You can pick your own adventures but if you pick the wrong one, your character may die or something else not so good may happen. You need to be careful of what you choose! I really like these books. They are really interesting adventures. (Jonathan in gr. 6)

 

 

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *