A Series by Gary Paulsen

Hatchet (1987)
– the series begins
– Brian Robeson has to survive in the Canadian wilderness after the pilot of the plane in which he is travelling has a heart attack and Brian has to land the plane.

The River (1991)
– a sequel to Hatchet
– Brian returns to the wilderness to demonstrate his survival skills for a psychologist who is designing a course for army scouts, but an accident occurs and Brian has to build a raft and paddle down a river to get help.

Brian’s Winter (1996)
– an alternate sequel to Hatchet
– What if Brian hadn’t been rescued at the end of the first novel? How would he have survived a winter in the wilderness? This novel explores that possibility.

Brian’s Return (1999)
– the third book about Brian
– Brian realizes that he doesn’t want to live in town anymore and so leaves his high school, gathers his survival equipment together and goes back to living in the wilderness.

Brian’s Hunt (2003)
– the final novel in the series
– Brian tracks down a bear that has wounded a dog and killed two people.

Have you ever felt alone? Or the desperate need to survive? In that case you might understand how Brian must’ve felt in Hatchet by Gary Paulsen, (Simon& Schuster Books, 1987). Brain Robeson is alone and deserted on an unknown island, left to fend for himself. The single-engined plane he was riding unexpectedly crashed on his way to visit his father. With a dead pilot and a crashed plane, he was now stranded in the middle of nowhere, out in the wilderness, to survive and fend for himself against who knew what was out there. All he had in his possession was himself; fully clothed in now damaged clothing, a digital watch which was broken due to the crash, and a hatchet his mother gave him before he left to visit his father. With that, his big goal now was to survive. But, the question is, how? Is it possible for a thirteen year old city boy to survive in the wilderness by himself? Read this realistic survival novel to find out. (Ann in grade eight)

 In Hatchet by Gary Paulsen (Aladdin, 2006), thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson is visiting his father who divorced his mother. But during the journey, the plane crashes. Suddenly, Brian finds himself alone in the forest with nothing but a tattered windbreaker and the hatchet his mother gave him as a present. He has to survive in the wilderness. During the day, he constructs a shelter and attempts to build a fire. When he goes to search for some food, he finds a raspberry patch, where he spots a bear. After 50 days, he finds the survival pack from the plane. He also finds the emergency transmitter. Soon, a plane lands on the lake, rescues Brian and he is reunited with his parents.
As I read this book, it felt so realistic, I felt shocked. When the pilot had a heart attack, Brian had to control the plane. As the plane crashed into a lake, I was so startled it was as if I were inside of the book. I was so shocked when I read that Brian tried to commit suicide by cutting himself with his hatchet, but when I found that he survived, I was relieved. Furthermore, when a plane flew overhead but did not see Brian, I felt so sorry for him. This made me think, once more, that this story seemed so realistic. There were many other scenes that shocked me with their realism, vivid in my memory.
Hatchet by Gary Paulsen is such a great story. It is full of heart-pounding adventure. It provided lots of emotions. As I read from one page to another, I had strong feelings that made me fall into this book even more. In my opinion, this story is an outstanding classic that can give us all courage, and hope. (Ina)

For more books by Gary Paulsen, go to http://library.sd34.bc.ca
Name = WA Fraser Library
Log on as a guest.
Do a keyword search: gary paulsen

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *