Twilight

If you liked . . .
TWILIGHT by Stephenie Meyer,
you might like these books, too!

 

Acheson, Alison. Mud Girl. (AR 4.3)
Austen, Jane. Persuasion. (AR 12.0)
Austen, Jane. Sense and Sensibility. (AR 8.4)
Brooks, Martha. Bone Dance. (AR 4.7)
Brooks, Martha. The Confessions of a Heartless Girl. (AR 5.0)
Bronte, Charlotte. Jane Eyre. (AR 7.9)

Cass, Kiera. The Selection. HarperTeen, 2012.
Sixteen-year-old America lives in a future world formed after the destruction of the United States. She is chosen to compete in a contest to win the heart of the nation’s prince but wants, instead, to be with the young man she really loves. While the writing is somewhat stilted, the story will likely be appreciated by readers who enjoyed Matched by Condie. [Marriage; Contests; Princes; Love; Science fiction]

Cassidy, Anne. Looking for JJ. (AR 4.9)
Clarke, Judith. One Whole and Perfect Day. (AR 5.4)
Clements, Andrew. Things Not Seen. (AR 4.5)
Clements, Andrew. Things Hoped For. (AR 4.7)
Collins, Suzanne. The Hunger Games. (AR 5.3)
Donnelly, Jennifer. A Northern Light. (AR 4.5)

Friesen, Gayle. The Isabel Factor. (AR 4.2)
Friesen, Gayle. Janey’s Girl. (AR 4.0)
Hoffman, Mary. The Falconer’s Knot. (AR 6.3)
Kilbourne, Christina. Dear Jo: The Story of Losing Leah.
Marsden, John. Winter. (AR 4.8)
Murdock, Catherine Gilbert. Dairy Queen. (AR 5.3)
Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds. Alice Alone. (AR 5.1)
Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds. Alice In Rapture, Sort Of. (AR 4.9)
Noyes, Alfred. The Highwayman.

Patrick, Cat. Forgotten.
Sixteen-year-old London remembers the future and forgets the past. This suspenseful story is more suitable for mature readers. [Dating (Social customs); Schools; Memory; Family life; Secrets; Friendship; Divorce; Young adult fiction]

Pearson, Mary. Scribbler of Dreams. (AR 4.6)
Perkins, Lynne. Criss Cross. (AR 5.5)

Reiss, Kathryn. Blackthorn Winter. (AR 5.1)
Schraff, Anne. Secrets in the Shadows. (AR 4.7)
Schraff, Anne. Someone to Love Me. (AR 4.5)
Schraff, Anne. Until We Meet Again. (AR 4.8)
Smith, Dodie. I Capture the Castle. (AR 5.9)
Spinelli, Jerry. Stargirl. (AR 4.2)
Spinelli, Jerry. Love, Stargirl. (AR 3.8)
Turnbull, Ann. Forged in the Fire. (AR 5.8)
Turnbull, Ann. No Shame, No Fear. (AR 5.1)
Voigt, Cynthia. Come a Stranger. (AR 5.3)
Voigt, Cynthia. Seventeen Against the Dealer. (AR 6.3)
Woodson, Jacqueline. Hush. (AR 4.2)

Your Recommendations!

An abomination: that is what Gabriel’s family thinks of Shay. In Sacrifice by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz (Simon & Schuster BFYR, 2011), the mysetery of Shay’s long illness has finally been solved. She is half vampire, and she will die without Gabriel’s blood. Gabriel promises Shay that his family will keep her safe. But when he brings her to them, Gabriel is shocked to discover that his family considers Shay to be an abomination, someone who does not belonging in either world, human or vampire. While Martin is trying to capture either Gabriel or one of his family members, Shay is locked away from Gabriel. Without his blood,she will die. Will Gabriel and his family survive Martin? Will Gabriel save Shay from his family? Or will Shay die before Gabriel even has a chance? Read this enticing book to find out. (Tina in grade eight)

Shay has always been different. She can never try out for sports, never go to parties, never fall in love because of the irregular and incurable blood that flows through her body. In Crave by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz (Simon & Schuster BFVR, 2010), Shay McGuire has been born with a mysterious and incurable blood disorder. Now, she can barely make it through three days of school without fainting. But that all changes when her doctor, Martin, who is also her stepfather, has a brand new treatment that he thinks will change everything. As soon as this brand new blood starts flowing in Shay’s body, she gets visions of a different life. In that life, she is faster, her senses are sharper and she can do anything without her blood getting in the way. The visions Shay sees are not her life, though, or her memories. They are Gabriel’s. When Shay sees her visions, she is inside Gabriel’s memories, experiencing everything he sees and feels. Now Shay must find out if Gabriel is real or not. Will Shay find out the truth? Or will her blood disorder take her first? Read this compelling novel to find out. (Tina in grade eight)

Their darkest enemies now dead, Damon and Ever are able to travel on their final quest, to free Damon of the poison resting in his body. In Everlasting by Alyson Noel (St. Martin’s Griffin, 2011), Ever has saved her friend Jude by killing Haven, but by doing so she has lost the only accessible way to find the antidote, the only way to free Damon of the poison in his body. But when a mysterious woman comes to tell them there’s another way, as long as Ever goes on the journey alone, Ever is compelled to go. But Damon will not accept the idea of her going alone. Ignoring his begging, Ever decides that she will go on the journey, even though risks losing Damon forever. Will Ever be able to make the journey alone? Will Ever survive? Will Ever be able to find the everlasting cure for her and Damon? Read this book about courage and romance to find out. (Tina in grade eight)

I recently read a great book called Chosen by P.C. and Kristin Cast. The main character, Zoey Redbird, lives at the House of Knight’s, a boarding school for vampires, and faces a dilemma: Should she save her best friend or let her turn into a stereotype? There are all sorts of complications. She’s imprinted on her human boyfriend Heath. She is fighting with her vampire boyfriend Erik. At the same time, she is keeping a secret from everyone that she’s also dating another adult vampire. At the end, Zoey saves her best friend, but loses all of her other friends.  I can tell you that this novel was one of the most adventurous novels I’ve read in a long time. (Melissa in grade eight)

The Short Second Life Of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer (Little Brown and Company, 2010) was both a breathtaking and thrilling read. I am one of those people who judge a book by its cover. If the cover looks bland and boring, or the title isn’t descriptive, I put it back on the shelf as if I had never had it in my hands. The Short Second Life Of Bree Tanner, however, was not one of those books. The cover, deep and moving, and the title, mysterious and engaging, lured me in. As I opened to the first page, the words flew at me as if they were meant to be devoured by my eyes and mind. The author, Stephenie Meyer, described everything so vividly: locations, the characters, feelings and more. I felt as if I were there with Bree when she found herself somewhere unfamiliar. Confused and alone, she cried out,“ What did you do to me?” to the one guy she recognized before the horrible sting filled her.
Meyer did an incredible job of describing the frumpy hide-out of the newborn vampires who fear the sun.  And when she said, “I was really thirsty, and I didn’t care much whether we went right or left or over the roof. I just wanted to find some unlucky people who wouldn’t have enough time to think wrong place, wrong time.” (pg.2), I was shown that Bree’s self-control for her thirst was very low and that she couldn’t care less on who or where she would feast as long as she was quenched to her full satisfaction in the end. These words showed me how thirsty she really was and opened up so many possibilities for my mind. (Katrina in grade eight)

In the novel Kiss Me Kill Me by Lauren Henderson (Delacorte Press, 2008), there are two phrases that I find to be very true in the real world. One of them is when Scarlett is comparing herself to Plum and her clique and thinks to herself “…they’re like packages wrapped in bright shiny paper, tied up with inviting satin bows, sprigs of flowers carefully slipped under the ribbon. If we were packages, we’d be wrapped in brown paper very battered at the corners, tied up with fraying string.” (pg. 13-14). That phrase really shows me that everybody is different and presents themselves differently, just like packages. The other phrase that I feel is quite true is “…it’s not that it is hard to keep a secret, it’s that it is impossible to keep a secret” (pg. 241). It’s pretty much impossible to know something that is a very big secret and never let it out in your life. It becomes too much to hold on to and you need to let it out, like the secret Nadia was holding: she saw Plum steal Dan’s epi-pen right before he died. (Natalie in grade eight)

In Night World Book 1: Secret Vampire by L.J. Smith(Archway, 1996), seventeen year-old Poppy has been best friends with James Redfern since they were in kindergarten. The thing is, he is a vampire. He is also part of an organization for werewolves, witches, shapeshifters and vampires called the Night World. But Poppy doesn’t know this at first. During the first few weeks of summer vacation, doctors discover that she has a fatal kind of cancer and since she is deathly ill, James feels that he must either transform her into a vampire, or let her die. But how can he do either?
As I read this book, images of mourning families, cruel creatures and painful transformations popped into my head. As Poppy got weaker and her skin became cold and pasty, pictures of withering skin and white corpses went through my mind. It sounds gruesome and troubling, but the book seriously impressed me. I thought the author’s descriptions and details were phenomenal. And when Poppy completed her transformation and came to life again as a vampire, my imagination did a 180 degree turn. Poppy was now described in a completely different light with the instincts of a hunter and the smooth movements of a ballerina. I would really recommend this book, even for people who don’t enjoy adventure/fantasy novels.
(Anna in grade eight)

I found Bird Kiss by Eunah Park easy to relate to in so many ways! The protagonist, Miyoul, is completely boy-crazy and she is not afraid to speak her mind! When there is a conflict that involves Miyoul’s friends, she is always by their side to help them out in any way possible! That’s how it is with me and my friends.
Miyoul has a huge crush on a handsome boy named Ghun Guelin. When he rejects her, I felt pain. I felt hurt for her, too! Then when she had a little spat with her friend Ramee, I felt like I was betrayed. I wanted the two girls to be friends again!
This story is mainly about magical beings, fantasy creatures, friends, relationships and fashion!  (Mikayla in grade eight)

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner, a novella by Stephenie Meyer, tells the story of the newborn vampire Bree Tanner  who, along with other newborns, has been created for an army. A vampire named Victoria, who must avenge her dead soulmate James who was killed by the Cullens, has created the army for two purposes only: destruction and suffering.
But Bree doesn’t know this and feels confused and on edge when she realizes that none of the vampires knows why they were created. So, while Bree plans to escape with her new-found mate, Diego, they must first find the answer. She soon finds out that everything she has been told is a lie, that the newborns have been created to slaughter a coven of vampires, and her Diego is murdered.
Devastated, fearful, crushed, confused, furious, insecure, euphoric, hopeful, relieved, contended, curious. . . I believe that a great novel draws you in so you feel for the main character. This novella sure did it for me. As Bree comes to realize what it means to be a vampire, I felt her loneliness and unwholesomeness. When she meets Diego, her soulmate, I felt happy, excited and hopeful with her. When she realizes he has been killed, my heart dropped with devastation. As the Volturi, the vampire police approached her, preparing to rip her apart and burn the pieces, I was terrified. And I was shocked when the book came to end, because surprisingly enough, so did Bree. (Anna in grade eight)

In The Vampire Diaries #2: The Struggle by L.J Smith there are lots of events that affect the main character, Elena. In the second book, at the end, Stefan proposes to Elena and she says yes. Lots of things happen after that, because she said yes. Soon after Stefan proposes to Elena, she tells her aunt and step-uncle that she and Stefan are getting married. Well, this didn’t sit well with her aunt. Her aunt got very furious and started saying she wasn’t allowed to marry Stefan, that she wasn’t allowed to see him anymore, either. Her step-uncle was equally furious and said that Stefan was a bad influence and that ever since she and Stefan started dating, she hadn’t been herself. After they said that, Elena started yelling at them and ran off. She took her friend’s car and started driving away. While she was driving, she lost control and went tumbling into a river. She couldn’t get out in time and she drowned, but when she drowned, she had Damon’s blood in her system. So, she came back to life. . . as a vampire. Just by telling her aunt that she was marrying Stefan, she set off a chain reaction of events that in the end would harm her. (by Chelsea in grade eight)

When I am reading a good book, it’s a bit as if I am in it. I feel the character’s emotions: different emotions for different parts of a book. In The Vampire Diaries #1: The Awakening by L.J. (HarperCollins, 1999), when something bad happened to Elena, the main character, I felt sad, as if I had been crying. When Damon, the antagonist, threatened Elena, saying, “If you don’t let me in, I will hurt your sister,” I felt scared. When Damon threatened Elena’s four-year old sister, I felt a little bit of anger. And when Elena and Stefan, her boyfriend, won over Damon at something, I felt happy. Finally, when Elena was being chased by Damon and there was a major windstorm in which Elena had to dodge falling branches and trees, I felt thrilled and excited, wondering what was going to happen next. Good, descriptive books make me feel multiple emotions. (Chelsea in grade eight)

Hear thee, hear thee! Are you looking for a book with suspense and romance? Then read Twice upon a Time by Wendy Mass (Scholastic, 2006), a novel that tells the prince and princess’s side of the story! Princess Rose is under a curse from an evil fairy: the curse is that the princess will prick her finger on a sharp object and will fall into a deep slumber as soon as the first drop of blood falls. The only way to awaken her will be the kiss from the right guy. That is where the prince comes in. His mother is an ogre who hates anything beautiful which becomes a crisis when the time comes for the prince to get married. He has found a castle, with a beautiful princess in it, and he gives her the kiss of life! She wakes up. They fall deeply in love! But since she is very pretty, the prince’s mother will not allow her into the castle. Is moving his bride into his mother’s castle worth the risk of his true love getting eaten? Read this book to find out! (Ashley in grade 7)

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *