Lemony Snicket

If you liked . . .
the Lemony Snicket books,
you might like these novels, too!

Ardagh, Philip. Awful End. (AR 6.3)
Ardagh, Philip. Dreadful Acts. (AR 6.1)
Ardagh, Philip. Terrible Times. (AR 6.6)

 

Bloor, Edward. Story Time.  New York: Harcourt, 2004.
George and Kate are selected to attend a special school that is proud of itself for having the highest test scores in the country. But what is lost when daily testing and constant pressure replace joyful learning? Mystery, suspense, and humour all combine in this engaging novel suitable for readers 12 years old and up.

 

 

Plain Kate

Bow, Erin. Plain Kate. New York : Arthur A. Levine Books, 2010. 
“Plain Kate’s odd appearance and expertise as a woodcarver cause some to think her a witch, but friendship with a talking cat and, later, with humans help her to survive and even thrive in a world of magic, charms, and fear.” – CIP  This endearing novel is recommended for readers ten to fourteen years old. It could be compared to The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman. [Cats; Fantasy fiction; Homelessness; Magic; Orphans; Runaways; Woodcarving]

 

Horvath. Polly. Everything on a Waffle.

Lowry, Lois. The Willoughbys.

Wood, Maryrose. The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: The Mysterious Howling.
Wood, Maryrose. The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: The Hidden Gallery.

Other stories about orphans:

Avi. Crispin: the Cross of Lead. (AR 5.0)
Avi. Crispin: at the Edge of the World. (AR 4.8)
Bondoux, Anne-Laure. Killer’s Tears. (AR 5.3)
Bredsdorff, Bodil. The Crow-girl. (AR 5.2)
Burch, Robert. Ida Early Comes over the Mountain. (AR 4.8)
Burnett, Frances Hodgson. The Secret Garden. (AR 6.3)
Creech, Sharon. Ruby Holler. (AR 4.3)
Dahl, Roald. The BFG. (AR 4.8)
Garfield, Leon. Smith. (AR 6.1)
Gleitzman, Morris. Once.
Kehret, Peg. The Hideout. (AR 4.8)
Patron, Susan. The Higher Power of Lucky. (AR 5.9)
(For more titles, go to Foster Children)

Other stories about survival:

Defoe, Daniel. Robinson Crusoe. (AR 12.3)
Hobbs, Will. Leaving Protection.
Horvath. The Corps of the Bare-boned Plane. (AR 5.8)
Jones, David. Baboon. (AR 6.1)
Laird, Elizabeth. Hiding Out.
O’Donnell, Liam. Wild Ride: A Graphic Guide Adventure.
Orr, Wendy. Nim’s Island. (AR 5.8)
Tullson, Diane. Red Sea. (AR 5.1)
Walters, Eric. Safe as Houses. (AR 4.3)
Wyss, Johann. The Swiss Family Robinson. (AR 9.7)
(For more titles, go to Survival Fiction)

Other humorous stories:

Dahl. Roald. Matilda. (AR 5.0)
Horvath, Polly. The Happy Yellow Car. (AR 5.5)
Horvath, Polly. My One Hundred Adventures. (AR 5.0)
Peck, Richard. Fair Weather. (AR 4.7)
Pratchett, Terry. Diggers. (AR 4.4)
Pratchett, Terry. Truckers. (AR 4.4)
Pratchett, Terry. Wings. (AR 4.2)
Scrimger, Richard. Ravine. (AR 3.8)
(For more titles, do a catalogue keyword search: humorous stories)

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *