Diary of a Wimpy Kid

If you liked . . .
Diary of a Wimpy Kid,
you might like these novels, too!

You can find out more about these books by going to . . .
http://library.sd34.bc.ca

Library Name: WA Fraser Library. You may access the library as a guest.

Novels written as diaries:
Benton, Jim. Am I the Princess or the Frog? (AR 5.6)
Benton, Jim. Never Do Anything, Ever. (AR 5.7)
Benton, Jim. The Trouble With Here… (AR 5.7)
Benton, Jim. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. (AR 6.1)
Benton, Jim. My Pants are Haunted! (AR 6.2)
Robertson, Keith. Henry Reed, Inc. (AR 5.5)
Rocklin, Joanne. For Your Eyes Only! (AR 4.3)
Snicket, Lemony. Lemony Snicket: the Unauthorized Autobiography. (AR 7.3)
(For more titles, do a keyword search: Diaries  Fiction)

Humorous stories:
Fitzgerald, John D. The Great Brain. (AR 5.2)
Hermes, Patricia. Kevin Corbett Eats Flies. (AR 3.6)
Howe, James. It Came From Beneath the Bed. (AR 4.1)
Korman, Gordon. No More Dead Dogs.
Korman, Gordon. Maxx Comedy: The Funniest Kid. (AR 4.7)
Korman, Gordon. The Chicken Doesn’t Skate. (AR 4.8)
Korman, Gordon. No Coins, Please. (AR 5.1)
McCloskey, Robert. Centerburg Tales. (AR 6.0)
McCloskey. Robert. Homer Price. (AR 6.6)
Park, Barbara. The Kid in the Red Jacket. (AR 3.9)
Park, Barbara. Almost Starring Skinnybones. (AR 4.0)
Park Barbara. Skinny-Bones. (AR 4.1)
Peck, Robert Newton. Soup. (AR 4.4)
Pratchett, Terry. Diggers. (AR 4.4)
Pratchett,Terry. Truckers. (AR 4.4)
Pratchett, Terry. Wings. (AR 4.2)
Rockwell, Thomas. How to Eat Fried Worms. (AR 3.5)
Sachar, Louis. Marvin Redpost: A Flying Birthday. (AR 3.2)
Sachar, Louis. Marvin Redpost: Why Pick on Me? (AR 2.7)
Snicket, Lemony. A Series of Unfortunate Events series.
Spinelli, Jerry. There’s a Girl in My Hammerlock. (AR 3.5)
(For more titles, do a keyword search: Humorous stories)

Novels about family life:
Byars, Betsy. A Blossom Promise. (AR 4.1)
Byars,Betsy. The Cartoonist. (AR 4.2)
Byars, Betsy. The Not-Just-Anybody Family. (AR 4.6)
Estes, Eleanor. The Moffats. (AR 5.2)
Estes, Eleanor. The Middle Moffat. (AR 4.6)
Estes, Eleanor. Ginger Pye. (AR 6.0)
MacLachlan, Patricia. Arthur, for the Very First Time. (AR 4.2)
Moses, Sheila P. The Baptism. (AR 4.8)
Nesbit, Edith. Five Children and It. (AR 5.7)
Nesbit, Edith. The Railway Children. (AR 5.5)
North, Sterling. Rascal. (AR 7.1)
Spinelli, Jerry. Eggs. (AR 3.6)
Spinelli, Jerry. Loser. (AR 4.3)
Wynne-Jones, Tim. Rex Zero, King of Nothing. (AR 3.6)
Wynne-Jones, Tim. Rex Zero and the End of the World. (AR 4.1)
(For more titles, do a keyword search: Family life  Fiction)

Comments and Responses!

Klise, Kate. Far From Normal. Scholastic Press, 2006.
This entertaining sequel to Deliver Us from Normal tells what happens when a huge chain turns Charles Harrisong’s life into a television show.  Everyone in the family has to appear in embarrassing commercials. They get paid in coupons that are only redeemable in the chain’s stores.  They are not allowed to go anywhere without permission. And the script for the show makes them look foolish.  The thought of a normal, quiet life starts to become very attractive. But how will they escape their contract, the lawyers and the technology guarding them?  Readers who’ve enjoyed The Wimpy Kid Movie Diary or Half-moon Investigations might like to try this hilarious, fast-moving novel. (Ms. Rosen)

My favorite book is The Diary of a Wimpy Kid because he is a kid just like me and he is just funny. If you have been having troubles reading, you should really try the book out, not only because it’s funny. It’s just when you think about it, [the book is] actually exactly how a kid acts. It might just be me, but I have liked every book that I have read since The Diary of a Wimpy Kid. (Jacob)

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *