Darren Shan

If you liked . . .
the DARREN SHAN series,
you might like these books, too!

Novels about vampires:
Dixon, Franklin. Danger on the Vampire Trail. (AR 5.1)
Kilworth, Garry. Vampire Voles.
Meyer, Stephenie. Twilight. (AR 4.9)
Meyer, Stephenie. New Moon. (AR 4.7)
Meyer, Stephenie. Eclipse. (AR 4.5)
Meyer, Stephenie. Breaking Dawn. (AR 4.8)
Rook, Sebastian. London, 1850. (AR 5.3)
Rook, Sebastian. Mexico, 1850. (AR 5.5)
Rook, Sebastian. Paris, 1850. (AR 5.4)
Stoker, Bram. Dracula. (AR 6.6)
Wilson, Eric. Vampires of Ottawa. (AR 5.3)

Novels about the supernatural:
Bedard, Michael. Redwork. (AR 6.4)
Buffie, Margaret. The Warnings. (AR 3.9)
Colfer, Eoin. The Wish List. (AR 4.0)
Coville, Bruce. The Monster’s Ring. (AR 3.9)
Gaiman, Neil. Coraline. (AR 5.1)
Han, Mary Downing. Time for Andrew. (AR 4.5)
Ibbotson, Eva. The Great Ghost Rescue. (AR 5.8)
Jones, Diana Wynne. The Eight Days of Luke. (AR 5.4)
Jones, Diana Wynne. The Time of the Ghost. (AR 5.5)
Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds. Shadows on the Wall. (AR 5.7)
Pullman, Philip. Clockwork, or All Wound Up. (AR 5.7)
Watson, Jude. Disappearance. (AR 3.9)
Watson, Jude. Premonitions. (AR 3.8)

Novels about circuses:
Corder, Zizou. Lionboy. (AR 5.7)
Horvath, Polly. When the Circus Came to Town.
Lawrence, Iain. Ghost Boy. (AR 4.4)


Novels about fear:
Chandler, Elizabeth. Don’t Tell. (AR 5.0)
Haddix, Margeret Peterson. Among the Hidden. (AR 4.8)
Haddix, Margaret Peterson. Among the Imposters. (AR 4.9)
Peck, Richard. Are You in the House Alone? (AR 4.9)
Slade, Arthur. Dust. (AR 4.6)

Novels that are mysteries:
Howe, James. Sebastian Barth mysteries:
Eat Your Poison, Dear. (AR 4.0)
Stage Fright. (AR 3.8)
What Eric Knew. (AR 3.9)
Riordan, Rick. Maze of Bones series:
The 39 Clues. (AR 4.3)
Rose, Malcolm. Traces series:
Framed. (AR 5.0)
Lost Bullet. (AR 5.1)

Novels about good and evil:
Alexander, Lloyd. The Black Cauldron. (AR 5.2)
Booth, Martin. Doctor Illuminatus. (AR 5.9)
Cooper Susan. The Dark is Rising Sequence:
Over Sea, Under Stone. (AR 5.4)
The Dark is Rising. (AR 6.2)
Greenwitch. (AR 5.3)
The Grey King. (AR 6.2)
Silver on the Tree. (AR 6.0)
Funke, Cornelia. Inheart series:
Inkheart. (AR 5.4)
Inkspell. (AR 5.6)
Inkdeath. (AR 5.4)
Taylor, G.P. Wormwood. (AR 6.3)

Classic horror stories:
Poe, Edgar Allan. Forgotten Tales.
Shelley, Mary. Frankenstein. (AR 12.4)
Stoker, Bram. Dracula. (AR 6.6)

More Recommendations!

Ruiz Zafon, Carlos. Prince of Mist.  New York : Little, Brown, 2010.
Thirteen-year-old Max Carver and his fifteen-year-old sister Alicia, along with their friend Roland, battle for their lives against an evil magician in a small seaside town during World War II. Full of action and suspense, this novel will be enjoyed by readers twelve to fourteen years old. (Historical fiction; Supernatural; Shipwrecks; Friendship; Moving, Household)

Did you know that vampire bats are called ‘New World’ leaf-nosed bats because they are found in Central and South America? Did you know that vampire bats drink blood? Vampire Bats (Abdo & Daughters, 1996) tells all sorts of fascinating facts about these creepy creatures. I learned that bats live on all the world’s continents except Antarctica, the polar regions, and a few ocean islands. I learned that vampire bats use echolocation to ‘see’ in the dark. I discovered that vampire bats are nocturnal and vampire bats babies often weigh 25 percent of their mother’s weight. Vampire Bats is a extraordinary book about the often-feared blood drinking animals. (Harman in grade eight)

Anderson, M.T. The Suburb Beyond the Stars. New York : Scholastic, 2010.
Friends Brian and Gregory have survived the Game of Sunken Places, but are once again drawn back to cousin Prudence’s house in Vermont, where they discover that something has gone very wrong with time, people have disappeared, and danger is lurking everywhere. (FVRL) (Supernatural; Space and Time; Vermont; Fantasy fiction; Good and evil; Friendship; Courage)

Ruiz Zafon, Carlos. The Midnight Palace.  New York : Little, Brown, 2011.
Ben has been raised in an orphanage in Calcutta, India.  He thinks he is alone in the world until he discovers, on his sixteenth birthday, that he has a twin sister.  He also discovers that a monstrous ghost from the past is trying to kill both of them. Set in the 1930s, this suspense-filled novel, translated from Spanish, will be enjoyed by readers eleven to sixteen years old.  (India; Historical fiction; Demonology; Orphans; Twins; Secret societies; Friendship) [Ms. Rosen]

 

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *