Alex Rider

If you liked . . .
the ALEX RIDER series by Anthony Horowitz,
you might like these books, too!

Lacey, Josh. Island of  Thieves. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2011.
Tom’s parents leave him with an uncle for a week while they go on a holiday.  What they don’t know is that Uncle Harvey is about to fly off on his own adventure: tracking down buried treasure in Peru. Tom tags along for an exciting week meeting criminals, hiding out in villages and barely escaping death.  A quick read for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Rick Riordan.[Drake, John — Fiction; Adventure and adventurers — Fiction; Peru — Fiction; Mystery and detective stories; Islands — Fiction; Uncles — Fiction; Buried treasure — Fiction; Theft — Fiction]

Newsome, Richard. The Billionaire’s Curse. Toronto: HarperCollins, 2009.
Thirteen-year-old Gerald Wilkins finds himself on a plane from Australia to England when his great-aunt dies. His parents think they will inherit her vast estate but it is Gerald who has unexpectedly acquired three vast estates and twenty billion pounds. He also has a killer on his trail. Along with two new friends, Ruby and Sam, he sets off to defeat an evil plot and solve an ancient puzzle. Quickly paced, this first book in The Archer Legacy is an entertaining novel for eleven to fourteen-year-old readers. Unfortunately, it has the usual uncaring parents and incompetent adults common to many adventure novels nowadays but all the action and easy-to-read style will make it popular with adolescents who want a bit of mindless entertainment. (England, Mystery and detective stories, Murder; Diamonds; Inheritance and succession)

Ruiz Zafon, Carlos. The Midnight Palace.  New York : Little, Brown, 2011.
Ben has been raised in an orphanage in Calcutta, India.  He thinks he is alone in the world until he discovers, on his sixteenth birthday, that he has a twin sister.  He also discovers that a monstrous ghost from the past is trying to kill both of them. Set in the 1930s, this suspense-filled novel, translated from Spanish, will be enjoyed by readers eleven to sixteen years old.  (India; Historical fiction; Demonology; Orphans; Twins; Secret societies; Friendship)

Responding to The Midnight Palace by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (New York : Little, Brown, 2011):
I can connect to this book through the fact that at times I, myself, feel as if I am being chased by a mad man. The mad man is regret, shame or anger. It seems as if I can never hide from it and the only way to stop it is to fight it head-on. Much like the twins who could never hide but fought the murdering masked man head-on. [Sean]

Ruiz Zafon, Carlos. Prince of Mist.  New York : Little, Brown, 2010.
Thirteen-year-old Max Carver and his fifteen-year-old sister Alicia, along with their friend Roland, battle for their lives against an evil magician in a small seaside town during World War II. While not as compelling as The Midnight Palace, another novel by this author, this story is nevertheless full of action and suspense and will be enjoyed by readers twelve to fourteen years old. (Historical fiction; Supernatural; Shipwrecks; Friendship; Moving, Household)

Print Friendly